Our school is the premier research and training institution for engineers here in the Saarland. We offer the following fields of study within 7 departments:

  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Renewable Energy
  • Energy Systems Engineering
  • Automotive Engineering
  • Computer Science and Informatics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Process Engineering
  • Mechatronics
  • Sensor Technology

Each of the 'conventional' disciplines of electrical engineering, computer science, and mechanical engineering can also be studied as a fully integrated bilingual Bachelor’s degree program supported by the German-French Institute of Higher Education (DFHI / ISFATES) with graduates also receiving the French Licence degree.

The more recent fields of biomedical engineering, renewable energy resources, automotive engineering and mechatronics have been developed to meet the needs of today’s labour market and to address important questions of current research interest.

We run the largest research program at the htw saar and acquired more than half of the university's third-party funding for research in 2012. Our highly diverse research work is performed by more than 20 research groups and institutes and ranges from applied materials engineering to the neurosciences.

Our strength lies in the field of technology with a significant potential for future economic development, such as

  • Thin-film technology
  • Electromagnetic compatibilit,
  • Robotics
  • Environmental informatics or
  • Vehicle telematics

Engineers and social scientists carry out joint research work at the Institute for Health Research and Technology (igft). A number of spin-out institutes, such as the Institute for Automotive and Environmental Engineering (FORGIS) and the Institute for Future Energy Systems (IZES) have established strong positions in the R&D market.

The Fraunhofer Society – a German research organization that promotes applied research – has endowed two professorships, one at the Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering (IBMT) in Sankt Ingbert and one at the Fraunhofer Institute for Non-Destructive Testing (IZFP) in Saarbrücken.

One of our professors is the scientific chair at the Center for Mechatronics and Automation Technology (ZeMA) a collaborative undertaking involving the htw saar, the Saarland University and the Saarland regional government. Broad-based distance-learning concepts are being developed to cover tuition and training in mathematics, statistics and foreign language skills.

The Automotive AKJ working group is cooperating with technical experts and managers from the automotive industry to optimize just-in-time processes and structures within the automobile production and supply sectors. The group also organizes an international conference for the automotive industry that is held annually in Saarbrücken.


Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft
des Saarlandes
Goebenstraße 40
66117 Saarbrücken

Telefon: (0681) 58 67 - 0
Telefax: (0681) 58 67 - 122
E-Mail: info@htwsaar.de

Ministerium der Finanzen und für Wissenschaft des Saarlandes

Folge uns